Update (02:23 UTC, 30 Oct): this audit runs to 00:30 UTC. Binance then published a Security Incident Update giving a root cause for the first time (DevOps laptop → service container → unauthorised withdrawals), a $6.3B impact estimate and $3B frozen, and saying the affected addresses' authorisations have been revoked. This piece's conclusion that no root cause had been disclosed is superseded by it — see Binance names a root cause. The signing infrastructure logs are still unpublished and the technical post-mortem is still outstanding, so the missing-evidence list in section 3 still stands.
This piece audits public information only; it contains no non-public material. Data as of 00:30 UTC, 30 October 2026.
TL;DR
No. As of the early hours of 30 October, Binance has released no log evidence from its signing infrastructure — no signing request records, no HSM/MPC audit trail, no policy engine decision log, no third-party forensic report.
- Binance has still not officially confirmed that the attack vector was EIP-7702. Every technical detail about the delegation, the 50 authorisations and the malicious contract comes from on-chain analysts and third-party security firms — not from Binance's disclosure.
- What is publicly visible is six statements, all centred on "funds are safe", "withdrawals paused", "security checks under way". CZ said it "does look like a hack", while also stating plainly that he no longer manages Binance.com — that is a shareholder's remark, not a company finding.
- The accounting was never defined, and it does not reconcile: independent accounting puts outflows at $5.643B against $2.62B frozen, leaving about $3B — yet when CZ responded to an estimate of "about $1B", he said only "possibly a bit higher". A threefold gap.
- There is no formal incident notice to users. The announcements page still leads with listings and margin parameter changes.
- "Funds are safe" is a solvency statement, not a security conclusion — it answers "will users lose money", not "how was the system breached".
1. What was disclosed: six statements, no technical detail
Lay the official accounts' and executives' public remarks out in order and the information content is close to zero:
| UTC (29 Oct) | Source | Substance | What it does not say |
|---|---|---|---|
| 21:15 | CZ | "User funds are safe; it does look like Binance was hacked"; thanks Tether for freezing about $971M and Circle about $823M; as a shareholder expects full coverage | Intrusion path, signing method, scale of loss |
| 21:16 | Binance | Aware of a "potential security issue", investigating, "impact on user funds not yet confirmed" | Any technical detail |
| 21:17 | He Yi | Reviewing all relevant information, will update through official channels | Any technical detail |
| 21:29 | Binance | Wording changes to "user funds are completely safe" | What this rests on, how it was verified |
| 22:23 | CZ | Responding to an estimate of "about $1B lost after freezes": "possibly a bit higher, but it will be covered" | What "loss" means, where coverage comes from |
| 22:33 | Binance | Security checks under way; withdrawals resume once fully resolved; funds safe | When, and what the problem is |
Three shifts in wording are worth noting: at 21:16 it was "impact not yet confirmed", at 21:29 "completely safe", and at 22:33 back to "security checks under way".
That is a crisis communications cadence, not disclosure of investigative progress. Thirteen minutes from "not yet confirmed" to "completely safe", with nothing verifiable in between — and if an impact assessment really was completed inside thirteen minutes, that assessment is precisely the document that should have been published.
2. The numbers do not reconcile: $3B vs $1B
This is the hardest contradiction in the public record, and it can be computed directly:
Independent on-chain accounting, outflows $5.643B (21:31)
Frozen by four issuers $2.620B (Tether 1.567 + Circle 0.823 + Ripple 0.2 + USD1 0.027)
─────────
Difference $3.023B
The magnitude CZ accepted at 22:23 about $1B ("possibly a bit higher")A factor of three.
The gap is not in itself an accusation — both figures may be correct and simply counting different things. At least three explanations are available: Binance itself executed partial recoveries or defensive transfers; the "outflow" figure includes consolidation between Binance's own addresses; or CZ meant net exposure after insurance and own-asset coverage.
None of them has been stated officially. And as long as "loss" is undefined, the promise to "cover it fully" has no verifiable object — covering $1B and covering $3B are entirely different commitments.
This is the thing most worth pressing on, and the thing most easily buried under the price action.
3. The missing logs
To decide between "private key leaked" and "signing system abused", the following evidence is decisive. All of it is absent:
| Evidence | What it would settle | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Signing request records | Which service, which service account, from which environment issued the 50 authorisations; the gap between request and inclusion (20:20:59) | Not disclosed |
| HSM/MPC audit trail | Which key, which policy slot, whether multi-party approval was required, who approved | Not disclosed |
| Policy engine decision log | Why a Type-4 authorisation cleared the limit, allowlist and transaction-type checks | Not disclosed |
| Monitoring and alert timeline | When internal systems saw the anomaly; whether the first alert was an outflow or a code change | Not disclosed |
| Key rotation records | Whether Binance 14's key has been replaced, when, whether the old address is retired |
Not disclosed |
| Third-party forensic report | Independent root-cause analysis | Not disclosed |
These are not materials that can be "assembled later". They are system logs that already existed within the first hours of the incident.
Checking the announcements page: as of 30 October the latest entries are still the 28–29 October listing and contract notices, with one margin parameter adjustment on the 30th and no security incident page. That does not rule out a sync delay, but it does mean there is no formal incident notice to users — which, in an event that suspended withdrawals, is itself anomalous.
4. What this means for judgement
Without logs, public analysis can only infer from on-chain behaviour, and on-chain evidence is mute — it records what happened, not why it was permitted:
- 50 consecutive nonces, descending, exactly one effective — more consistent with batch pre-signing than with holding a key and operating against a node transaction by transaction;
- 12 automated sweeps afterwards, several of them 23,100-gas empty polls — the attacker held a repeatably triggerable channel, not a one-off transfer;
- If the full private key had leaked, Binance signing a revocation would simply invite re-delegation, yet no such tug of war has been observed — which leans weakly towards an abused signing channel rather than a key held long-term.
But these are inferences, not evidence.
What would settle it is exactly the signing log that has not been published: show "which service account requested 50 authorisations pointing at 0x63e842… around 20:20" and the root cause is characterised within minutes.
Which is why the non-disclosure is itself information: until an investigation concludes, "key leaked" and "signing system abused" remain parallel hypotheses in the official record, not eliminated ones.
For users and counterparties, two consequences:
- "Funds are safe" currently rests on Binance's own statement and CZ's shareholder backing, with no proof of reserves or third-party audit behind it.
- If the root cause is signing infrastructure rather than a single key, more than
Binance 14may be affected — exactly the risk that logs would rule out, and Binance has offered no basis for ruling it out.
5. Conclusion
As of the early hours of 30 October 2026, Binance has disclosed no log evidence from its signing infrastructure, and has published no root-cause report or third-party forensic conclusion.
The public record is six statements plus an attack chain assembled by on-chain analysts — the latter can prove what happened, but not why the signature was permitted.
Bottom line. Until Binance publishes signing request records and a key management audit, every conclusion about "leaked key versus abused signing system" is a hypothesis; and "user funds are safe" is a solvency promise, not a security finding.
The next signal worth watching is not the price but three things: a formal incident notice, a proof-of-reserves update, and whether a revocation pointing at address(0) appears for Binance 14. Until at least one of them lands, this is not technically over.
Sources
Companion pieces: a Binance hot wallet falls — one valid signature, eight minutes, $5.6B and anatomy of the EIP-7702 attack: 18 hours of prep, one signature, one bot. This piece audits public information only. Data as of 00:30 UTC, 30 October 2026; the event is ongoing. Not investment advice. DYOR.